Scammers Promise Raunchy Video on Facebook to Trick Users into Installing Malware


Facebook scam lures users to malware

Cybercriminals are trying to trick users into installing a Trojan on their computers with the aid of Facebook posts that advertise a private video of one of their friends.

Facebook scams are highly common these days. However, in most cases they’re only designed to dupe internauts into taking part in surveys. In this case, the cybercriminals’ goal is to distribute a piece of malware.

According to Bitdefender, the messages posted by cybercriminals on Facebook read something like “[user name] private video,” “[user name] naked video” or “XXX private video.” The user name is someone from the potential victim’s friends list.

When the links from these posts are clicked, users are taken to a fake YouTube site that appears to show a video that’s already been viewed by millions of people. However, victims are told to update their Flash Player in order to access the content.

The Flash Player update is actually a Trojan. The threat installs a web browser extension that’s capable of hijacking the victim’s Facebook account to steal their photographs and spread the scam posts.

The scam posts published by this rogue extension on users’ timelines tag the victim’s friends to attract their attention.

If you come across such posts on Facebook, don’t click on them. If you’re already a victim, remove the rogue extension from your web browser and scan your computer with an antivirus program. Bitdefender solutions detect the threat as Trojan.FakeFlash.A.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s